Skip to main content

Media Rules During an Election

These guidelines explain the laws that affect media coverage and the use of social media during Ontario provincial elections. Below, you will find information on the advertising blackout period and the rules that the media must observe in voting locations.

This page also includes our guidelines for how to use online communications responsibly during an Ontario election. The rules set out in the Election Finances Act for print and broadcast media apply to websites, email and social media (for example, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and blogs).

If you have a specific question, please contact us.

Please note: It is an offence under the Election Finances Act to publish, broadcast or transmit election survey results on Election Day if those results have not previously been made available to the public. This rule also applies to websites, email and social media.

Legend

Skip to main content

Lignes directrices applicables aux médias lors d'une élection

Les présentes lignes directrices précisent les lois qui ont une incidence sur la couverture médiatique et l'utilisation des médias sociaux lors des élections provinciales de l'Ontario. Vous trouverez ci-dessous des renseignements sur la période d'interdiction de publicité commerciale et sur les règles que les médias sont tenus d'observer au sein des lieux de vote.

En outre, cette page inclut nos lignes directrices concernant l'utilisation responsable des communications en ligne lors d'une élection ontarienne. Les règles énoncées dans la Loi sur le financement des élections à l'égard des médias imprimés et électroniques s'appliquent aux sites Web, au courriel et aux médias sociaux (par exemple, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube et les blogues).

Si vous avez une question spécifique, communiquez avec nous.

Remarque : Le fait de publier, diffuser ou transmettre, le jour du scrutin, les résultats d’un sondage électoral qui n’ont pas été mis à la disposition du public antérieurement constitue une infraction aux termes de la Loi sur le financement des élections. Cette règle s'applique également aux sites Web, au courriel et aux médias sociaux.

Legende