Electoral Districts

Previously, under the Representation Act, 1996 Ontario was divided into electoral districts whose names and boundaries were identical to those of its federal electoral districts, and required redistribution whenever a readjustment took place at the federal level under the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act (Canada).

With the passing of Bill 214 and the Representation Act, 2005, Ontario’s electoral boundaries are no longer identical to the federal electoral boundaries. As of the October 10, 2007 provincial general election, Ontario is divided into
107 electoral districts. The districts consist of 11 northern electoral districts that are identical (except for a minor boundary adjustment) to the ones that existed on October 2, 2003, and 96 southern electoral districts that are identical to their federal counterparts, as they existed on September 1, 2004.

The 11 northern electoral districts are: Algoma—Manitoulin, Kenora—Rainy River, Nickel Belt, Nipissing, Parry Sound—Muskoka, Sault Ste. Marie, Sudbury, Thunder Bay—Atikokan, Thunder Bay—Superior North, Timiskaming—Cochrane, and Timmins—James Bay.

These electoral boundaries will remain until they are replaced by provincial legislation.