

<u>New</u>	s Rele	ease		
FOR	IMME	EDIATE	REL	EAS

## **Voting Continues Across Ontario**

TORONTO, June 7, 2018 — This morning, election day voting began in 7,177 voting locations in 124 electoral districts across Ontario. More than 55,000 election officials have been on-site at these locations helping qualified electors cast their ballots.

Voting will continue until 9 p.m. (ET) or 8 p.m. (CT) across the province.

Elections Ontario endeavors to have all polls open on time. In some instances, there are unavoidable delays or interruptions that may occur. Accordingly, the Chief Electoral Officer of Ontario has the authority under Section 40 (5) of the *Election Act* to extend voting hours where there have been delays.

In accordance with the foregoing, the Chief Electoral Officer hereby extends the voting hours for the following polls:

- Glengarry-Prescott-Russell Poll 012 Poll will close at 10:30 p.m. (ET)
- York South-Weston Poll 406- Poll will close at 9:40 p.m. (ET)
- Kiiwetinoong Poll 032 Poll will close at 12 a.m. (CT)

Media should be advised that results for the electoral districts of: Glengarry-Prescott-Russell, York South-Weston and Kiiwetinoong will not be released until after all the polls have closed in these electoral districts.

Elections Ontario is the non-partisan agency responsible for administering provincial elections, by-elections and referenda. For more information visit <u>elections.on.ca</u> or call 1-888-668-8683 (TTY: 1-888-292-2312).

## Aussi disponible en français

For further information, please contact Elections Ontario Media Relations 1-866-252-2152 media@elections.on.ca